See JEE ADVANCED 2018 Eligibility Criteria In Details

JEE Advanced 2018 is the final stage of Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) and provides admissions to entitled candidates into the B.Tech programmes offered by 23 Indian Institute of Technology (IIT). To join in JEE Advanced 2018, the candidates will have to be among the top 2,20,000 rankers of JEE Main 2018.

JEE Advanced will be held in May 20. B.Tech, Integrated M.Tech or B.Tech-M.Tech Dual Degree in Engineering, Architecture, Science & Pharmacy is provided in IITs and ISM through JEE Advanced Examination. Here we give information about IIT JEE Advanced 2018 Eligibility Criteria

JEE ADVANCED 2018 eligibility


All the candidates must fulfil each and every one of the following five criteria to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2018.

Criterion 1 – Performance in JEE (Main) 2018: Candidates should be among the top 2,20,000 (including all categories) by scoring positive marks in Paper-1 of JEE (Main) 2018.

The percentages of various categories are: 27% for OBC-NCL, 15% for SC, 7.5% for ST and the remaining 50.5% is OPEN for all. Within each of these four categories, 3% horizontal reservation is available for PwD (including Dyslexic) candidates.

As shown in the following table, the usual order will be followed while choosing top 2,20,000 candidates in various categories who have scored positive marks in JEE (Main) 2018.

Category-wise distribution of top 2,20,000 candidates (Criterion 1)

Order Category Number of “Top” Candidates              Total
1 OPEN 1,07,767                                                  111100
2 OPEN-PwD 3,333
3 OBC-NCL 57,618                                                     59400
4 OBC-NCL-PwD 1,782
5 SC 32,010
6 SC-PwD 990                                                         33000
7 ST 16,005                                                    16500
8 ST-PwD 495


Criterion 2 – Age limit: Candidates should have been born on or after October 1, 1993. Five years relaxation is given to SC, ST and PwD candidates, i.e., these candidates should have been born on or after October 1, 1988.

Criterion 3 – Number of attempts: A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years. Therefore, candidates who appeared in JEE (Advanced) 2017 for the first time are also eligible.

Criterion 4 – Appearance in Class XII (or equivalent) examination: A candidate should have appeared for the Class XII (or equivalent) examination for the first time in either 2017 or 2018. However, candidates whose Class XII (or equivalent) examination Board results for the academic year 2016-17 were declared after June 2016 are eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2018.

Criterion 5 – Earlier admission at IITs: A candidate should NOT have been admitted in an IIT irrespective of whether or not he/she continued in the program) OR accepted the IIT seat by reporting at a reporting centre in the past. The candidates whose admission at IITs was cancelled are also NOT eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Candidates who have been admitted to a preparatory course in any of the IITs for the first time in 2017 can appear in JEE (Advanced) 2018. The candidates who have paid seat acceptance fee but not accepted the seat (by not reporting at any reporting centre during joint seat allocation in 2017) are eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced) 2018.


Qualifying Exam Criteria

  • Candidates  appeared in the 12th or equivalent exam in the year 2016 or 2017 for the first time in all subjects are eligible.
  • Students should have obtained 75% aggregate for general students and 65% aggregate for SC/ST and PwD candidates.OR
  • Students should be within the category-wise top 20 percentile of successful candidates in their respective12thor equivalent board exam.
  • For calculating the aggregate marks and cut-off marks for fulfilling the top 20 percentile criterion, the following 5 subjects will be considered:
    (a) Physics
    (b) Chemistry
    (c) Mathematics
    (d) a Language
    (e) any subject (other than four above mentioned subject).
  • The total marks must be calculated out of 100. If the marks of any subject is not out of 100 then the marks will be scaled (up or down) to 100.
  • If marks in the qualifying examination are provided in a grading format, then the candidate should obtain a certificate from the Board specifying the equivalent marks and submit it at the time of acceptance of the allocated seat. If certificate is not provided, then the decision taken by the Joint Implementation Committee of JEE (Advanced) 2017 will be final.
  • If Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics and Language are not evaluated in the final year (e.g., in a 3-year diploma course), then the marks for the same subject from the previous year/s will be used for calculating percentage of aggregate marks
  • Candidates who have appeared the class 12th examination in 2016 and re-appearing in 2017 then the best performance out of both these will be considered.
  • In case of 3-year diploma or equivalent courses, marks scored in the final year will be considered. Similarly, for Boards which follow a semester system, the marks scored in the final two semesters will be considered.
  • Candidates who have passed the 12th or its equivalent examination in 2016 but appearing one of the subject in 2017 improvement then, aggregate percentage will be evaluated by considering the maximum marks obtained in the required subjects.

Examinations Considered As Equivalent to Class 12th

The final examination of the 10+2 system, conducted by a Central or State Board recognized by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU)

. • Intermediate or two-year Pre-University examination conducted by a Board or University recognized by the Association of Indian Universities

. • Final examination of the two-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy.

• Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling with a minimum of five subjects.

• Any Public School, Board or University examination in India or in a foreign country recognized as equivalent to the 10+2 system by the AIU.

• H.S.C. vocational examination

. • A Diploma recognized by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) or a State Board of Technical Education of at least 3 years duration.

• General Certificate Education (GCE) examination (London, Cambridge or Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level.

• High School Certificate Examination of the Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva. Candidates who have completed Class XII (or equivalent) examination outside India or from a Board not specified above should produce a certificate from the AIU to the effect that the examination they have passed is equivalent to the Class XII examination. © JEE (Advanced) 2017 – Information Brochure 32 In case the Class XII examination is not a public examination, the candidate must have passed at least one public (Board or Pre-University) examination earlier.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *